

The 6's are coming

Sailors and enthusiasts, the boats are making their way to Newport, the parties are planned, the trophies have been ordered and all of Newport is eagerly anticipating the **2009 6mR world cup** that over 32 yachts have <u>registered</u> with 16 boats arriving from around the world.

We are so pleased to be a part of this historic event supporting the Sprig from San Diego, California. Greg Stewart, owner and his crew will be competing in this great event. The crew will be:

Greg Stewart – Drive SDYC Member, owned Sprig since 1998, Crewed 2007 6 meter Worlds 6th place.

Doug Jones – Trimmer SWYC Member that owns S&S yacht Pacifica. Regular Sprig crew. Professional shipwright.

Chris Dalton - Bow SWYC Member that crews on S&S yacht Pacifica & regular Sprig crew for past (5) years.

Kirstin Hetch - Trimmer Sailing Supply Manager. Regular Sprig crew for past (4) years.

John Gladstone – Tactician & Sailmaker SDYC Member whom has sailed on Sprig over last 20 years.

The racing will be held both offshore and in Narragansett Bay (Newport, RI) depending on the conditions. There are eight (8) Windward/Leeward races scheduled for the World Cup each approximately 8 miles. **Sprig** will race with Dacron Sails, which will make **Sprig** eligible for the B&K Classic Trophy. (This is the trophy that we won when I sailed with Doug Peterson on the 6 m **BobKat** in the 2007 6-meter World Cup.)

Note from Greg: "It is going to be the first time many of the 6 meters have ever lined up against each other and in some cases the second time in 75 years since the last time they lined up against each other! This is true on both scores for **Sprig** that had a relatively short life in the top 6 m fleet. Further in the case of **Sprig**, it's amazing to think she has not been in the Atlantic Ocean for approx 50 years". "Another thought that recently struck me and has further fueled my desire to compete with **Sprig** in the 2009 6m World Cup is the fact that the event will be raced in economic times similar to the period when she was built 80 years earlier. The saying... the more things change the more they stay the same... seems very relevant. I have also been saying if these guys can do it so can !!!"

"I am really looking forward to this event that will be an event not to miss...especially since it is likely that the World Cup will not return to the states for 12 or more years."

All of your supporters want to wish Greg and his crew the very best!

Best Regards, Leslie Jenness *Sprig* 2009 World Cup Press Officer For more information on the race <u>www.6worldcup.com</u>

2009 6m World Cup Enty List

ENTRY_FNAME	ENTRY_LNAME	ENTRY_CTRY	Sail Number with Country Code	Name of Boat	Designer	Year Built	Class
Bob	Cadranell	us	USA 118	Arunga	Pelle Petterson	1981	Modern
Stephen	Murray	us	BAH 1	Conch Fritters	Peter Norlin	1985	Modern
Andy	Parker	us	US 123	Finnegan	Brian Wertheimer	1985	Modern
Peter	Norlin	se	SWE 133	Jungfrun	Peter Norlin	1995	Modern
Robert	Leigh-Wood	uk	GBR 90	Lyonesse	Stephen Jones	1988	Modern
Patric	Fiedell	se	SWE 115	May Be XIV	Pelle Petterson	1987	Modern
Mirko	Capka	de	GER 60	Philippa	Pelle Petterson	1981	Modern
Tony/Matt	Widmann/Newton	us	US 112	Ranger	Gary Mull	1978	Modern
Rob	Gray	gb	GBR 96	Scoundrel	lan Howlett	1988	Modern
Hugo	Stenbeck	ch	SWE 132	Sophie II	Peter Norlin	1994	Modern
Thomas	Rodes	us	US 52	Alana	Wm. Fife III	1930	Cl. 3rd Rule
Heckly	Louis	fr	FRA 111	Dix Aout	Bjarne Aas	1950	Cl. 3rd Rule
Henrik	Andersin	fi	FIN 67	Djinn	Sparkman & Stephens	1938	Cl. 3rd Rule
Hans	Oen	us	NOR 80	Elisabeth X	Bjarne Aas	1947	Cl. 3rd Rule
Nick	Booth	us	N 71	Flapper	Christian Jensen	1938	Cl. 3rd Rule
Jim	Metteer	us	US 90	Fokus3	Bjarne Aas	1947	Cl. 3rd Rule
TP	Koljonen-Astrand	fi	FIN 12	Fridolin	Tore Holm	1930	Cl. 3rd Rule
Eric	Jespersen	са	KC 10	Gallant	Arvid Laurin	1947	Cl. 3rd Rule
Peter P	Hofmann	us	US 81	Goose	Sparkman & Stephens	1938/1957	Cl. 3rd Rule
Erik Tingleff	Larsen	dk	DEN 65	Great Dane	Sparkman & Stephens	1956	Cl. 3rd Rule
Dr. Thomas	Kuhmann	de	G 30	Mena	C. Nicholson	1946	Cl. 3rd Rule
Don	Martin	ca	KC 19	Saskia II	Wm. Fife III	1934	Cl. 3rd Rule
Andreas	Krause	de	G 17	Sleipnir 2	Rasmussen	1935	Cl. 3rd Rule
A. Postle/	B. Pope	gb	GBR 22	Titia	David Boyd	1952	Cl. 3rd Rule
Jesse	Smith	us	US 51	Totem	Bill Luders	1930	Cl. 3rd Rule
Cherokee	Syndicate	us	US 53	Cherokee	Sparkman & Stephens	1930/2009	Cl. 2rd Rule
Jed	Pearsall	us	D 22	Clarity	Wm. Fife III	1924	Cl. 2nd Rule
Martha	Coolidge	us	US 56	Jill	Sparkman & Stephens	1932	Cl. 2nd Rule
Madcap	Syndicate	us	US 21	Madcap	Frederick Hoyt	1924	Cl. 2nd Rule
Bill	Green	gb	US 60	Nancy	Sparkman & Stephens	1932	Cl. 2nd Rule
Greg	Stewart	us	US 43	Sprig	Clinton Crane	1930	Cl. 2nd Rule
Bob	Towse	us	US 14	SYCE	John G. Alden	1922	Cl. 2nd Rule
Martin / Chris	Farrand	nz	NZL 1	Scout	Ewen Bros.	1909	Cl. 1st Rule

Note: SYCE is all caps since it is an acronym